SPRA announces new appointments to the technical committee

Nigel Blacklock (left) and Stephen Duffy
Nigel Blacklock (left) and Stephen Duffy

The Single Ply Roofing Association (SPRA) technical committee is said to be the beating heart of SPRA and is a key membership benefit. Member-driven, it ensures that the SPRA Design Guide is updated on a regular basis (2018 version will be launched at the SPRA Annual Conference on the June 20, 2018), in addition to the other supplementary guidance documents. The committee also works through important industry issues as they occur, often resulting in additional guidance and training material.

Elections for the position of technical chair take place every two years, and Nigel Blacklock has been re-elected to this post until May 2020. SPRA will therefore continue to benefit from Nigel’s wealth of experience and his involvement on many important third party national and European Standards and industry committees. Nigel said: “I am honoured to have been re-elected to chair the technical committee. I hope that this continuity will also be helpful as SPRA welcomes our new technical manager, Ronan Brunton later this summer.”

SPRA is also very pleased to announce that Stephen Duffy of Topek has become the first SPRA vice-technical chair. Council recently approved the creation of this new post as part of its ongoing succession policy. This role will encourage new members to get more involved with the management of SPRA and allow them to gain a deeper understanding of the skills, knowledge and commitment required to chair this committee. Stephen said: “I am delighted to be offered this opportunity to support Nigel, the technical committee and SPRA council. I am looking forward to being able to support and promote the work of the technical committee to all stakeholders as its first vice-chair.”